Wednesday, June 18, 2008

FIve Indian Americans Among Presidential Scholars

Indolink reports that, "Five Indian Americans are among 139
outstanding high school seniors selected as the 2008 prestigious
Presidential Scholars for demonstrating academic achievement, artistic
excellence, leadership and contribution to school and community. They
will be honored in Washington DC from June 23 to 27. Announcing the
awards, US Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings said the scholars
represent the great gift "we have in our nation's youth. Their
academic achievement and their spirit of leadership and service will
ensure their success in the 21st century knowledge economy.

The 139 Presidential Scholars include one young man and one young
woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico , and
from US families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20
Presidential Scholars in the Arts. A 29-member Commission on
Presidential Scholars appointed by President George W Bush selected
the scholars based on their academic success, artistic excellence,
essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of
community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high

This years Indian American scholars are as follows: Ravi N. Shankar,
Trinity Preparatory School, Winter Park, Florida; Pranoti Hiremath,
Ishna A. Sharma, Roswell High School, Roswell, New Mexico; Mythili K.
Iyer, Lawrenceville High School, Kendal Park, New Jersey ; Ruchir F.
Shah, Barrington High School. Barrington, Rhode Island and Anisha
Gulabani, Eastlake High School, Sammamish, Washington. The Washington
DC program to honor the 2008 Presidential Scholar is hosted by the
Presidential Scholars Association."

No comments: